Monday, February 2, 2015

CTG Announces Writers' Workshop Participants

Seven Local Playwrights Have Been Chosen For Annual Nine-Month Workshop

            Center Theatre Group has selected participants for the 2014-2015 Writers’ Workshop in which seven local playwrights will meet regularly over a nine-month period to craft new plays with the use of resources provided by CTG. The workshop, administrated by CTG’s Literary Department, serves as a way to encourage and cultivate new theatrical works within the Los Angeles area, while also building and strengthening relationships between the organization and local playwrights.
            Those participating in the 2014-2015 Writers’ Workshop include Joshua Allen, Evelina Fernández, Dorothy Fortenberry, JC Lee, Alex Lewin, Ken Roht and Kimberly Rosenstock. Playwrights were selected by CTG’s Director of New Play Development Pier Carlo Talenti and Literary Manager Joy Meads. Each year, the goal is to bring together approximately seven of Los Angeles’ rising playwrights, all of varying backgrounds and writing styles, with the intent on creating work that challenges audiences and the surrounding theatre community. To be eligible, the writers must currently reside in Los Angeles and must be either starting work on a new play or interested in starting work on a new play.

No comments:

Post a Comment