Thursday, June 30, 2016

The Academy Invites 683 To Join Its Ranks

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), headed by Cheryl Boone Isaacs, has invited 683 industry professionals to join its ranks.

In response to this year’s #OscarsSoWhite fiasco, the Academy has sent an olive branch, of sorts.

Isaacs publicly announced the academy’s plan to double the number of women and members from diverse backgrounds by 2020.

On Wednesday, the academy took the first steps toward that goal.

Last year 322 were invited. This year’s 683 invitees more than doubles last year’s numbers. About 46 percent are female and 41 percent are people of color. Doubling the invitees will move overall female membership in the academy from 25 percent to 27 percent, and that of members of color from 8 percent to 11 percent.

Following is a list of invitees by category.

Morris Chestnut

Actors: Mahershala Ali, Anthony Anderson, Chadwick Boseman, John Boyega, Morris Chestnut, Loretta Devine, Carmen Ejogo, Idris Elba, Vivica A. Fox, Dennis Haysbert, Ice Cube, Michael B. Jordan, Regina King, Nia Long, Adepero Oduye, Nate Parker, Harold Perrineau, Anika Noni Rose, Tessa Thompson, Lorraine Toussaint, Glynn Turman, Gabrielle Union, Damon Wayans Jr. and Marlon Wayans.

Hair/Makeup: Pierce Austin, Camille Friend, Norma Hill-Patton, Beverly Jo Pryor

Documentarians: Haile Gerima, Laurens Grant, Thomas Allen Harris, Shola Lynch, Louis Massiah, Dawn Porter

Casting: Jacqueline “Jaki” Brown, Kim Taylor-Coleman

Ryan Coogler

Directors: Amma Asante, Souleymane Cissé, Ryan Coogler, Julie Dash, Cheryl Dunye, Albert Hughes, Euzhan Palcy, Dee Rees, George Tillman Jr., Melvin Van Peeples, Keenan Ivory Wayans

Executives: Courtney D. Armstrong, Nicole Brown, Pauline Fischer, DeVon Franklin, James F. Lopez.

Mary J. Blige

Music: Mary J. Blige, RZA, Marcus Miller, Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson,

Art Department: Production designer Hannah E. Beachler, storyboard artists Warren Drummond and Michael Anthony Jackson

Producers: Debra Martin Chase, Paul E. Hall

Jacqueline L. "Jackie" Bazan

Publicists: Jacqueline L. “Jackie” Bazan, Cassandra Butcher, Terra Potts, Arnold Robinson

Short Films and Animation: Damon Russell

Writers: Ryan Coogler, Ice Cube, Keenan Ivory Wayans (all invited in multiple categories)

Members at Large: Yolanda T. Cochran, Cameron Mitchell

No comments:

Post a Comment