Thursday, December 31, 2015

25th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Announced

The online 2015 NAACP Theatre Awards Show proudly announces its nominees for the awards honoring excellence in theatre:

Best Choreography – Equity

Maurice Hines is Tappin’ Thru Life – Maurice Hines
The Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess – Ronald K. Brown
Kiss Me Kate – Jeffrey Polk

Best Choreography – Local
The Brothers Size – Ameenah Kaplan
The Magic Flute – Lungelo Ngamlana
Visionary Man – Ali North

Best Costumes – Equity
The Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess – Emilio Sosa
Choir Boy – E.B. Brooks
Othello – Katherine Roth

Best Costumes – Local
Low Hanging Fruit – Wendell C. Carmichael
The Magic Flute – Leigh Bishop
Knock Me A Kiss – Naila Aladdin Sanders

Best Director – Equity
Stop Kiss – Seema Sueko
Choir Boy – Trip Cullman
The Tallest Tree in the Forest – Moises Kaufman

Best Director – Local
Sassy Mamas – Iona Morris
The Brothers Size – Shirley Jo Finney
Secrets – Wallace Demarria

Best Director of a Musical – Equity
The Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess – Diane Paulus
Maurice Hines is Tappin’ Thru Life – Jeff Calhoun
Kiss me Kate – Sheldon Epps

Best Director of a Musical – Local
The Magic Flute – Mark Dornford-May
Visionary Man – Tom Coleman
The Gondoliers – Alison Eliel-Kalmus

Best Ensemble Cast – Equity
Stop Kiss
Flyin’ West

Best Ensemble Cast – Local
Sassy Mamas
The Brothers Size

Best Lead Female – Equity
Above The Fold – Taraji P. Henson
The Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess – Alicia Hall Moran
Race – DeWanda Wise

Best Lead Female – Local
Knock Me a Kiss – Toyin Moses
Closely Related Keys – Diarra Kilpatrick
Going to St. Ives – Inger Tudor

Best Lead Male – Equity
Choir Boy – Jeremy Pope
The Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess – Nathaniel Stampley
Maurice Hines is Tappin’ Thru Life – Maurice Hines

Best Lead Male – Local
Bus Stops – Leonard Thomas
Knock me a Kiss – Keir Thirus
The Whipping Man – Kirk Kellykahn

Best Lighting – Equity
The Tallest Tree in the Forest – David Lander
Above The Fold – Adam Blumenthal
Race – Josh Epstein

Best Lighting – Local
Low Hanging Fruit – Rebecca Raines
Bag Lady – Tom Meleck and Iona Morris
The Magic Flute – Mannie Manim

Best Music Director – Equity
Maurice Hines is Tappin’ Thru Life – Sherrie Maricle
Kiss Me Kate – Rahn Coleman
The Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess – Dale Rieling

Best Music Director – Local
Visionary Man – Jeffrey Bonhiver
The Gondoliers – Leonardo Sciolis
The Magic Flute – Pauline Malefane & Mandisi Dyantyis

Best One Person Show – Equity
The Tallest Tree in the Forest – Daniel Beaty
Forever – Dael Orlandersmith
Paul Robeson – Keith David

Best One Person Show – Local
Bird Lives! – Montae Russell
The Devil and Billy Markham – Tony Winters
Bag Lady – Tammi Mac

Best Playwright – Equity
The Tallest Tree in the Forest – Daniel Beaty
Above The Fold – Bernard Weinraub
Stop Kiss – Diane Son

Best Playwright – Local
Sassy Mamas – Celeste Bedford Walker
Bag Lady – Tammi Mac
The Brothers Size – Tarell Alvin McCraney

Best Producer – Equity
Above The Fold – The Pasadena Playhouse
Maurice Hines is Tappin’ Thru Life – Willis Annenberg Center for Performing Arts, Arena Stage, Alliance Theatre and Cleveland Play House
The Tallest Tree In The House – Center Theatre Group

Best Producer – Local
Bus Stops – Jaimyon Parker
Sassy Mamas – Vanessa Paul & Alex Morris
Bag Lady – Tammi Mac & Jackson Brown
Sassy Mamas – Vanessa Paul & Jeff Murray

Best Set Design – Equity
Choir Boy – David Zinn
Above the Fold – Jeffery P. Eisenmann
Flyin’ West – JR Bruce

Best Set Design – Local
The Magnificent Dunbar Hotel – Michael D. Ricks
Knock Me a Kiss – Tom Meleck

Best Sound – Equity
Othello – Acme Sound Partners with Jason Crystal
Choir Boy – Fritz Patton
Above the Fold – Cricket S. Meyers
Sumayya Ali

Best Supporting Female – Equity
Above the Fold – Kristy Johnson
The Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess – Danielle Lee Greaves
Knock Me A Kiss – Ashlee Olivia

Best Supporting Female – Local
Closely Related Keys – Yvonne Huff
Knock Me A Kiss – Rosie Lee Hooks

Best Supporting Male – Equity
The Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess – Kingsley Leggs
Choir Boy – Caleb Eberhardt
Choir Boy – Grantham Coleman
Bus Stops – Jaimyon Parker

Best Supporting Male – Local
The Magnificent Dunbar Hotel – Kyle Connor McDuffie
Closely Related Keys – Brent Jennings

About The NAACP Theatre Awards
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch in partnership with the City of Los Angeles and co-chaired by Byron K. Reed, Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo-West Region Community Relations. The mission of the Theatre Awards is to entertain, educate, inspire the community and create diversity in the arts and entertainment industry. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrates a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.

No comments:

Post a Comment