Monday, October 24, 2016

AAFCA Announces Achievement Award Recipients

(Los Angeles) – The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) announced the honorees for its annual Special Achievement Awards, set to be handed out on Saturday, Jan. 7, 2017, at the California Yacht Club in Marina del Rey, California.


Anthony Hemingway

AAFCA Horizon Award: Anthony Hemingway – Visionary Director/Producer, UNDERGROUND

Floyd Norman

AAFCA Legacy: Floyd Norman – Legendary Animator, Disney/Hanna-Barbera

Lee Daniels

AAFCA Cinema Vanguard: Lee Daniels – Oscar-Nominated Producer/Director, record-breaking TV show creator, Precious, Empire 

Mike Phillips

AAFCA Roger Ebert: Mike Phillips – Film Critic, Chicago Tribune

Vanessa Morrison

AAFCA Ashley Boone: Vanessa Morrison – President, Fox Animation

“All of our honorees are serious players who are helping to move the industry forward in terms of creating images that are diverse and inclusive,” says Gil Robertson, AAFCA president/co-founder. “They are all cultural visonaries who deserve to be recognized for their roles in advancing projects that have paid off critically and finacially and we look forward to celebrating their careers.” 

In the next month, AAFCA will host its signature event, The 8th AAFCA Awards on Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2017, at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood. Winners will be announced on Monday, Dec. 12, 2016.

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the largest black film critics organization in the world, representing television, radio, print and online critics. 

No comments:

Post a Comment